Sir Terry

Making Money by Terry Pratchett

Reading challenge: “A Satirical Book”

One of the things you should know about me is that Terry Pratchett is my favorite. His best books grab me, turn me inside out, make me rethink everything I know about humanity, reaffirm my decision to go to social work school, and make me feel a million different emotions. He did amazing things with war, Shakespeare, consumerism, fairy tales, religion, gender, racism, class, DEATH and the conventions of literature. He perfected the footnote. He used puns like nobody else. He died too young, and is missed.

This isn’t one of the inside-out-turning, million-different-emotions books. It just doesn’t quite reach that level of transcendence. Oh, don’t get me wrong, though. It’s still good. It’s still wildly entertaining. And you should read it.

Making Money follows the further adventures of the unfortunately/brilliantly-named Moist von Lipwig, the protagonist of Going Postal. This time the focus of the satire is the banking industry, which is certainly open to satire. The best part of this for me is the Glooper, run by a slightly mad young man named Hubert and his faithful Igor (the Igors are a whole race of people in Pratchett, and they’re amazing). These are among the new characters we’re introduced to: there’s also the Lavish family, the mysterious and uptight Mr. Bent, his chief clerk Miss Drapes, Owlswick Jenkins (who illustrates a point about the nature of artists that, in spite of being fairly obvious, is very entertaining in its execution), the not-actually-alive Professor Flead and of course, Mr. Fusspot (the dog). Characters from previous books are back, including of course Moist, his love interest the chain-smoking Golem ally Adora Belle Dearheart, Lord Vetinari, Commander Vimes, intrepid reporter Sacharissa Cripslock, Gladys the Golem and more. Gladys, whose appearances are frequent but largely brief, probably has the most interesting character arc of any of the characters. I’d say more but I wouldn’t want to spoil it for you.

It moves quickly, is entertaining, and overall is very solid Pratchett. I probably wouldn’t start with this one if you’re new to Discworld (I recommend The Wee Free Men, Guards, Guards, or Wyrd Sisters as all good starting points), but if you aren’t, read and enjoy.

Suggested Pairing: gin & tonic.

Leave a Reply

